hutton parish council

The Parish Council

The Council is made up of ten elected members, the choice of whom is made by registered electors from the parish on a four-year cycle coinciding with elections to the North Somerset District Council.  Hutton Parish Councillors work as a team, members of which disregard influence from or allegiance to political parties, which we believe have no part to play in parish affairs.

The Clerk is available in the Parish Council Office at the Village Hall each weekday morning between the hours of 9.00 a.m. and 1.00 p.m.

The outside organisation whose activities and decisions have the most bearing on the parish is North Somerset Council.  It provides us with the Parish Precept, which is the basis of our annual budget expenditure, and which forms a small part of the Council Tax paid by parishioners.
As the body which administers planning law, it submits to us each planning application for development in the parish, and considers our response prior to making its decision.  For more details see Planning Applications.
North Somerset’s Streets and Open Spaces department controls the condition of the roads in the parish.  Here again, the Parish Council can make representations on the matter, but has to accept the decisions of the local authority.
Hutton’s two elected representatives on North Somerset Council are:-
Mike Solomon  11 Totterdown Lane, Weston-super-Mare  BS24 9LU
01934 811986
 Terry Porter   15A Moorcroft Road, Hutton, Weston-super-Mare  BS24 9RW
 Terry Porter  01934 813399